Cox Machinery Warehouse

From FranaWiki
Original elevator machinery from the 1906 Cox Machinery Warehouse Building. Photo by Phil Frana.
The building today holds River Market Books & Gifts, Farmer's Daughter Café, Boulevard Bread Company, the Arkansas Artists Gallery, and the Showcase Arkansas Gallery. Photo by Phil Frana.

The Cox Machinery Warehouse building in the Little Rock River Market once held equipment manufactured by the Thomas Cox & Sons Machinery Company. Thomas Cox first set up shop in Dardanelle, Arkansas, around 1885, then moved to Little Rock in 1900. His expanding company began operating in downtown in 1905. Cox Machinery went out of business in 1925. In 1998 voters approved the renovation of the building as an annex of the Main Library of the Central Arkansas Library System. The renovation was completed in September 2001.


External links