Street View of Taborian Hall
Taborian Hall was built between 1916 and 1918 and originally called Taborian Temple. Taborian Hall housed the Knights and Daughters of the Tabor, a black fraternal insurance collective. The hall was constructed by black contractor Simeon Johnson.
Taborian Hall opened its doors to a number of black organizations and individuals. Beginning in August 1918 a Negro Soldiers Club served black soldiers from Camp Pike. Dentist J.V. Jordan had his office here, as did physician W.B. Black. Businesses operating out of the building included the Gem Pharmacy, Ritz Beer Garden, and Dreamland Grill. The Dreamland Ballroom operated on the third floor beginning in 1937. The United Service Club (USO) purchased the entire building in 1941 and made it a club for African American servicemen. Musicians who performed here were Louis Armstrong, Count Basie, Ella Fitzgerald, and "Fatha" Earl Hines. Sammie Davis, Jr. and Redd Foxx also did their comedic routines in the Taborian USO. Local musicians who performed at the USO included Lloyd Armon, Blind Al Hibbler, Louis Jordan, and the Yellowjackets.
In 1954 the building, rechristened Taborian Hall, held three nightclubs. The Twin City Club operated out of the basement. The Waiters Club occupied the second floor. The Dreamland on the third floor became the Club Morocco. In the 1950s Ray Charles and B.B. King performed here.
Taborian Hall since 1991 houses the headquarters of FlagandBanner.com. Flag and Banner is owned by Kerry McCoy. Taborian Hall, located at the corner of Ninth and State streets, is on the National Register of Historic Places. The building is ondergoing a million dollar renovation, to be completed in 2008 with the assistance of design team Jameson Architects.